living braver

one faith step at a time…

We Are So Normal…

5 Comments

Hands1    Discovery: I’m not the only one who deals with fear, doubt, fretting, worrying, dread and all those other not brave words. I remember when I first realized this (only a few months ago)… I was so surprised and also relieved, I wasn’t abnormal after all…

In fact, turns out that most people when surveyed would say that fear is where they operate from in at least one part of their life. Our fears change as we change – what might have caused our stomachs to get tied in knots in our twenties is a non-issue in our fifties….

So where does that leave us, fear still reigns and during this day and age isn’t going to go away anytime soon…

Corrie Ten Boom, a Christian Holocaust survivor, said “Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow. It empties today of its strength.” Isn’t that what we are looking for? Strength to put one foot in front of the other for today…

“The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in Him and I am helped.” (Psalm 28:8 NIV)

Key: trusting Him gives me the help I need, and my strength is not my own, He is my strength – bonus: He is also my shield

Hard to say I’m trusting if my focus is worry, or doubt, or what ifs… Instead can I lift my eyes, ask for His shield to cover over me, to take my thoughts captive, to turn my dark to His light…

Have we caught on yet? The Bible is our promise book, from the only Promise Keeper who never breaks His word…

“He will keep you strong to the end, so that you will be blameless on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ.” (1Corinthians 1:8 NIV)

When we just can’t seem to ‘let it go’, when we feel like our prayer will never be answered, when what we think the worst is happens – even then, even then He will keep us strong… That is peace, I don’t have to stay strong, it is Him who will keep me strong…

“It is not my ability, but my response to God’s ability, that counts.” Corrie Ten Boom

???????????????????????????????

 

5 thoughts on “We Are So Normal…

  1. So true, our fears do change with age. So thankful that God is a constant.

    Sent from Janice’s iPad

    >

    Like

  2. Wonderful, inspiring truths you’ve shared with us. It IS HIM who will keep us strong! Thank you for this today – something to carry in our hearts and minds.

    Like

  3. I like to throw all my cares and concerns on the Lord because of 1 Peter 5:7 “…casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.” as well as Philippians 4:13 – “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” It is strengthening to pray with Bible words so that I call upon His strength.

    Like

Leave a Reply

