living braver

one faith step at a time…

Revision…

4 Comments

heart chain link fence pixa x     Ever felt like some chunk of your life needed a revision, a do-over? Maybe a regretted moment, an out of your control circumstance, a chapter needing to be rewritten.

It’s easy to get lost in the guilt of those moments needing revising, succumb to anger, give way to wanting to fix the past.

Maybe we aren’t supposed to linger in wanting the revision but ask our Father to change our vision, a new vision, to truly Re-Vision us. Looking beyond what we think shouldn’t have happened, what we think should happen now, or why we’re stuck because of it.

Re-Vision says I choose to see this through His eyes. Re-Vision says I trust He sees the whole picture not just this part. Re-Vision says I’m willing to let Him turn my longing for a do-over into beauty I may never see this side of eternity.

fence in fog pixa x

“Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity. All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.” (1Corinthiiians 13:12 NLT)

Instead of living the shattered dream again and again we must Re-Vision to see beyond. There are no mistakes in the lives of those God loves, no surprises that caught Him off guard. Jesus never told us that this earthly life would be carefree, worry-free, absent of pain. In fact, He told us “…In this world you will have trouble.” (John 16:33b NIV)

orangey tree and clouds pixa x

There is a beginning part to that verse and ending that I left off. They are what gives us new vision: “I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have peace.” (John 16:33a NIV) Regardless all the trouble that sin has wrought in this world, peace in our soul is possible. When the peace of Jesus reigns we can loosen our grip on our vision for how things should be or could be.

The verse ends: “But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33c NIV) Oh, there is my Re-Vision. I can’t see how all this mess turns out, but I can take Him at His word that He can see forever. The enemy wants my vision clouded with what seems failure. My Savior says He works all things for good for those who trust in Him – Fix Your Eyes on Me…

dasy in orangey filed pixa x

 

 

4 thoughts on “Revision…

  1. I love this! So many times I can get lost in the land of regret, feeling like my mistakes are mountains He can’t move. That is not the truth, but when I let it feel like it, I too want a re-do. Your words were a gift of encouragement, thank you!
    Blessings,
    Dawn

    Like

    • Dawn, yes our mountains are self-made and His provision of grace melts them away. Thank you for your kind words and for stopping by – and prayers for Re-Vision as you go through your week 🙂 Paris

      Like

  2. I love this! It reminds me of some of the things the Lord has been showing me along these lines as well! So enjoyed visiting your site today and the clarity and wisdom of your words.

    Blessings,
    Pam

    Like

    • Pam, thank you so much for stopping by. Seems like the Lord works through His children showing them His truths and brining them to unity – so they can be strengthened and useful. Appreciate your kind words. Enjoy this weekend as you fix your eyes on Him 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

